Using Social Media: Legal Risks for Employers and Employees - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
Using Social Media: Legal Risks for Employers and Employees
  • Tuesday
  • November 27, 2012
  • 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. Eastern
Register Now!

Available Online: | Coursebook

Why You Should Attend

Employment law is evolving rapidly--and perhaps no more so than in the area of employer/employee use of social media.  Our expert panel, including federal district court judges, will guide you through the social media thicket so you can advise your clients confidently.

This continuing legal education program was originally presented on July 26, 2012 at the ALI CLE multi-day course, Current Developments in Employment Law.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

Discoverability, including demanding passwords and access codes

Authentication and admissibility

Collection of private social media

Juror usage of social media

Retention of social media and the available technology

Preservation duties

In camera examination by "friending"

Subpoenas and the Secured Communications Act

Back to Top

Planning Chair

Maura R. Grossman, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, New York  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

Faculty

Robert B. Fitzpatrick, Robert B. Fitzpatrick, PLLC, Washington, D.C.

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Matthew F. Kennelly, Judge, U.S. District Court, Chicago  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Elizabeth D. Laporte, U.S. Magistrate Judge, San Francisco  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rebecca R. Pallmeyer, Judge, U.S. District Court, Chicago 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 Craig B. Shaffer, U.S. Magistrate Judge, Denver  

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

Program Schedule

All times Eastern

12:00 noon Program Begins

1:30 p.m. Adjournment

 

Email questions before or during the program to vquestions@ali-cle.org; questions will be answered via email within 48 hours.

 

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.5; total 50-minute hours: 1.8
For more information on CLE credits for a particular jurisdiction, click on the “Mandatory CLE Credit” link in the box titled, “Course Details,” at the top left of this web page.

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 12:00 noon – 1:30 p.m.
Central 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Mountain 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 p.m.
Pacific 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Alaska 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
Hawaii 7:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service