Conference on Life Insurance Company Products: Featuring Current SEC, FINRA, Insurance, Tax, and ERISA Regulatory and Compliance Issues
Conference on Life Insurance Company Products: Featuring Current SEC, FINRA, Insurance, Tax, and ERISA Regulatory and Compliance Issues
$USD
Tax Exempt Organizations: An Advanced Course
Tax Exempt Organizations: An Advanced Course
$USD
Clean Water Act: Law and Regulation
Clean Water Act: Law and Regulation
$USD
Negotiating with (and Against) a Mediator - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
Negotiating with (and Against) a Mediator
  • Featuring leading mediation expert Charles B. Craver
  • Thursday
  • August 23, 2012
  • 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Eastern
Register Now!

Available Online: | Coursebook

Why You Should Attend

As lawyers, we often find it difficult to initiate case settlement discussions with opposing counsel, fearing that such behavior is seen as a sign of weakness. Or that, in making the first contact, we will have to articulate the first offer. In this thought-provoking webcast, nationally recognized mediation and negotiation expert Charles B. Craver explains why lawyers should not hesitate to contact opposing counsel to begin the bargaining process.  And, when direct party-to-party discussions have reached an impasse, why advocates should engage a mediator to assist in the process. This practical webcast explores the benefits of the mediation process and makes it clear that mediation necessitates negotiation with the mediator as well as through the mediator with opposing counsel. The instructor also outlines the different mediator styles and approaches to educate participants about the intricacies of this important process. By the end of this program, you will feel more confident in using your negotiation skills throughout the mediation process to enhance the likelihood of a better settlement for your client.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

 

Program topics include:

 Initiating Negotiation Talks

 Understanding the Bargaining Process

Using Mediations to Facilitate Negotiations

Negotiating with and Through Mediators

Impact of Mediator Styles

The Mediation Process

 

Attend the premier broadcast of this webcast (recorded on August 14, 2012) and have the opportunity to submit your questions in advance and/or during the webcast. Questions will be answered by Professor Craver via email within 2 business days of the program. All registrants receive a set of downloadable course materials and free access to the archived online program.

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

 

Attorneys who engage in mediation and want to improve their negotiation skills during the mediation process should attend this unique seminar.

Back to Top

Planning Chairs

 

Charles B. Craver is the Freda Alverson Professor of Law at the George Washington University Law School where he teaches two different courses on legal negotiating. He also teaches the Peter Bronstein Negotiation Institute each year at the University of Virginia School of Law.  Over the past thirty years, Professor Craver has taught negotiation skills to over 85,000 attorneys and business persons throughout the United States, and in Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Austria, England, Germany, Turkey, and China.  He is the author of Effective Legal Negotiation and Settlement (LEXIS 7th ed. 2012), Skills and Values in Legal Negotiating (LEXIS 2nd ed. 2012), and The Intelligent Negotiator (Prima/Crown 2002), and coauthor of Legal Negotiating (Thomson/West 2007) and Alternative Dispute Resolution: The Advocate's Perspective (LEXIS 4th ed. 2011).

 

Back to Top

Program Schedule

 

ALL TIMES EASTERN

12:00 p.m.  Seminar Begins

  1:00 p.m.  Adjournment

 

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.0; total 50-minute hours: 1.2
For more information on CLE credits for a particular jurisdiction, click on the “Mandatory CLE Credit” link in the box titled, “Course Details,” at the top left of this web page.

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Here's what registrants have said about this course:

 

"Professor Craver was terrific!"

 

"Professor Craver presents material with wit and enthusiasm."

 

"The instructor's presentation was excellent."

 

"Professor Craver was excellent; his presentation was organized, presented smoothly and clearly and with good examples, and he completed the course in the allotted time. I would have appreciated and even longer presentation--he was that good!"

 

 

 

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
Central 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Mountain 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Pacific & Arizona 9:00 am – 10:00 am
Alaska 8:00 am - 9:00 am
Hawaii 6:00 am – 7:00 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service