ILSA: New Cases, New Home, New Direction - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
NOTE: Due to system upgrades, access to this website and your account will not be available 8 a.m. through 6 p.m. EDT, Saturday, August 23. For assistance, please email customer service at custserv@ali-cle.org. We apologize for the inconvenience.
ILSA: New Cases, New Home, New Direction
  • Presented with the American College of Real Estate Lawyers (ACREL)
    previously recorded on
  • Friday
  • December 16, 2011
  • 11:00 am - 12:30 pm ET
Register Now!

Available Online: | Coursebook

About ACREL

ACREL Logo The American College of Real Estate Lawyers is the premier organization of U.S. real estate lawyers. Admission is by invitation only after a rigorous screening process. ACREL's distinguished, nationally-known lawyers have been elected to fellowship for their outstanding legal ability, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice of real estate law.



About ACREL

ACREL Logo The American College of Real Estate Lawyers is the premier organization of U.S. real estate lawyers. Admission is by invitation only after a rigorous screening process. ACREL's distinguished, nationally-known lawyers have been elected to fellowship for their outstanding legal ability, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice of real estate law.



Why You Should Attend

The Interstate Land Sales Act is in the news! The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) is now administering the Act in lieu of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and the courts have been deciding claims under the Act at an unprecedented pace. As a consequence, lawyers face great challenges as new agency policies and case law are reshaping this field of practice.

 

All participants have the opportunity to submit questions in advance of this showing, and during the program. The panel will answer questions via email within three business days of the program. Please send advance questions to nmulloy-bonn@ali-aba.org.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

This nationally recognized faculty will address these topics, among many:

Exemptions from registration requirements, including the exemption for improved lots and for subdivisions with less than one hundred lots

The use of an exemption as a prohibited "attempt to evade" the Act

Sale contract clauses addressing the Act’s requirements for disclosure of developer obligations and buyer remedies

Buyers' rights and remedies and the statutes of limitation governing their enforcement

The organization and approach of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) in administering the Act, in place of HUD

 

Invest just 90 minutes in this superb video, recorded on October 21, 2011, by leading members of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers.

 

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

All real estate and business lawyers, litigators and related professionals involved with interstate land sales.

Back to Top

Planning Chair

MODERATOR & SPEAKER

Rebecca Anderson Fischer, Sherman & Howard L.L.C., Denver, Colorado

 

Back to Top

Faculty

Richard C. Linquanti, Carlton Fields, P.A., St. Petersburg, Florida

William P. Sklar, Akerman Senterfitt LLP, West Palm Beach, Florida

Jo Anne P. Stubblefield, Hyatt & Stubblefield, P.C., Atlanta, Georgia

 

Back to Top

Program Schedule

All times eastern

11:00 a.m.    ILSA: New Cases, New Home, New Direction

12:30 p.m.    Adjournment

Email questions during the program to vquestions@ali-aba.org.

 

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.5; Total 50-minute hours of instruction: 1.8
Note: No Iowa, Ohio, or Tennessee CLE credit is available for this program. Washington is approved for self study credit only. CPE credit is not available.

Suggested Prerequisite: Familiarity with real estate buy-sell transactions

Educational Objective: Acquisition of knowledge and skills to develop proficiency as a practitioner; maintenance of professional competence as a practitioner; provision of information on recent legal developments

Level of Instruction: Intermediate to Advanced

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Central 10:00 am –11:30 am
Mountain 9:00 am – 10:30 am
Pacific 8:00 am – 9:30 am
Alaska 7:00 am – 8:30 am
Hawaii 6:00 am – 7:30 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service