The Silent Trust: Using State Statutes to Delay Notification of a Trust - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
The Silent Trust: Using State Statutes to Delay Notification of a Trust
Register Now!

Available Online: Online CLE | MP3 Audio Files | Coursebook

Why You Should Attend

Do you have a client concerned about who is the beneficiary of a trust? Most state laws impose a requirement on trustees to keep current beneficiaries of a trust reasonably apprised of their beneficial interests. This can be concerning to many grantors, particularly with respect to younger beneficiaries. Grantors fear that a beneficiary’s knowledge of the wealth in the trust can result in a disincentive for the beneficiary to achieve his/her own success.

 

The creation of the “silent trust” changes this dynamic by eliminating a trustee’s duty to inform beneficiaries of the existence of a trust for a period of time. Join us at this all-new CLE program on silent trusts for a practical, in-depth examination of silent trusts and their special considerations.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

Faculty discussion includes: 

how silent trusts may be used to restrict information to trust beneficiaries 

trustee disclosure requirements imposed by state statutes 

which states permit the use of silent trusts 

concerns for trustees in administering silent trusts

 

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

This continuing legal education program from American Law Institute CLE is designed for trust and estate attorneys, as well as other estate planning professionals.

Back to Top

Planning Chair

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

Michael M. Gordon, Gordon, Fournaris & Mammarella, P.A., Wilmington, Delaware

Back to Top

Faculty

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

David A. Diamond, Senior Vice President, Northern Trust Company, Wilmington, Delaware

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Daniel F. Hayward, Gordon, Fournaris & Mammarella, P.A., Wilmington, Delaware

Back to Top

Program Schedule

All times are eastern 

1:00 p.m.  The Silent Trust:  Using State Statutes to Delay Notification of a Trust

2:00 p.m.  Adjournment

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.0; Total 50-minute hours of instructions: 1.2.

Level of Instruction: Advanced

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Central 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
Mountain 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Pacific & Arizona 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Alaska 9:00 am – 10:00 am
Hawaii 7:00 am – 8:00 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service