Current Ethical Issues for Estate Planners - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
Current Ethical Issues for Estate Planners
  • Cosponsored by The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel
Register Now!

Available Online: Online CLE | MP3 Downloads | Coursebook

About ACTEC

ACTEC Logo The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel (ACTEC) is a nonprofit association of lawyers established in 1949. Its members are elected to the College by demonstrating the highest level of integrity, commitment to the profession, competence and experience as trust and estate counselors.



Why You Should Attend

 

The ethical challenges that an estate planning lawyer faces differ greatly from those encountered by other lawyers: representation of more than one family member, a client who is both a fiduciary and a beneficiary, communicating with family members who do not have legal representation, confidentiality issues, etc. Such varied scenarios not only lead to uncommon ethical problems, but also increase exposure to malpractice claims.

 

Register today for this timely CLE program on ethics for estate planners, taught by Fellows of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel and featuring practical, real-world scenarios, so you can learn what you need to know to properly, competently, and ethically handle your clients’ unique situations.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

Ethical guidance will include discussion of:

competence

effective and timely counsel

communications with clients and others

confidentiality of information

conflicts of interests

representing different family members in family limited partnerships

designation of the lawyer as fiduciary or attorney for the fiduciary

dealing with unrepresented persons

multi-jurisdictional issues

clients with diminished capacity

lawyer as witness

 

This interactive seminar offers you the opportunity to ask questions of the faculty by email before and during the program. The discussion will be based on ACTEC’s Commentaries on the Model Rules of Professional Conduct, Fourth Edition, accessible free of charge at www.actec.org/public/CommentariesPublic.asp. In addition, all registrants will receive a set of downloadable course materials and free access to the archived online program.


Need ethics credit? This seminar qualifies for 2.0 to 2.4 ethics credit hours, depending on state requirements, in MCLE jurisdictions that accredit live telephone seminars and/or webcasts.

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

This accredited continuing legal education program from ALI CLE is designed for estate planners, wealth managers, family business advisors, and other attorney or legal professionals who work with family businesses.

Back to Top

Faculty

Charles D. Fox IV, McGuireWoods LLP, Charlottesville VA

Hugh Kendall, The Kendall Law Firm PLC, Chattanooga TN

Mary F. Radford, Georgia State University College of Law, Atlanta GA

Back to Top

Program Schedule

All Times Eastern Daylight

12:00 p.m. Program Begins.

Fellows of The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel discuss unique ethical challenges facing estate planners, using real-world scenarios.

2:00 p.m. Program Ends.

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 2.0; Total 50-minute hours 2.4

Suggested Prerequisite: Minimal experience in subject matter

Educational Objective: Acquisition of knowledge and skills to develop proficiency as a practitioner; maintenance of professional competence as a practitioner; provision of information on recent legal developments

Level of Instruction: Intermediate

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Here's what registrants have said about this course:

 

"Ethical CLE credits which are relevant to trusts and estates practice are hard to come by. It was a pleasure to obtain credits and actually learn helpful information at the same time. The speakers were excellent and the hypotheticals were very useful."

"Great discussion and helpful examples!"

"Very good reinforcement and a couple of new ideas as well. Re-enforces the need for well-written engagement letters and full disclosures to clients (especially multiple clients)."

"Well done."

"Great program - very useful and practical information."

p> 

 

"The use of relevant hypothetical examples made the program much more interesting and applicable to practice considerations."

"Well done."

"As I expected, Mary, Skip and Hugh did a fabulous job with their presentations. An excellent program."

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm

Central 11:00 am to 1:00 pm

Mountain 10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Pacific & Arizona 9:00 am to 11:00 am

Alaska 8:00 am to 10:00 am

Hawaii 6:00 am to 8:00 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service