american law institute courses
Commercial Real Estate Leases: Selected Issues in Drafting and Negotiating in the Current Market. Event date: Conference on Life Insurance Company Products: Featuring Current SEC, FINRA, Insurance, Tax, and ERISA Regulatory and Compliance Issues. Event date: Tax Exempt Organizations: An Advanced Course. Event date: Clean Water Act: Law and Regulation. Event date: The New Face of Capital Formation. Event date:
Commercial Real Estate Leases
Commercial Real Estate Leases: Selected Issues in Drafting and Negotiating in the Current Market.
Conference on Life Insurance Company Products
Conference on Life Insurance Company Products: Featuring Current SEC, FINRA, Insurance, Tax, and ERISA Regulatory and Compliance Issues.
Tax Exempt Organizations: An Advanced Course.
Tax Exempt Organizations: An Advanced Course.
Clean Water Act: Law and Regulation
Clean Water Act: Law and Regulation.
The New Face of Capital Formation
The New Face of Capital Formation.
Advising Nonprofit Organizations: Complying with Limits on Compensation, Benefits, and Other Paymen ts - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
Advising Nonprofit Organizations: Complying with Limits on Compensation, Benefits, and Other Paymen ts
Register Now!

Available Online: Online CLE | MP3 Audio Files | Coursebook

Why You Should Attend

 

Not only is the tax-exempt status of a charity sacred, but so is its integrity and good name!

 

Indeed, today’s nonprofit organizations are under heightened scrutiny by regulators to ensure compliance with federal and state laws. Excessive compensation and other benefits given to board members, trustees, officers, or key employees can trigger the private inurement prohibition, putting the nonprofit at risk for intermediate sanctions or even losing its tax-exempt status. As a lawyer for a charity or member of its board of directors, what are your responsibilities to ensure that its income and assets don’t unreasonably benefit an “insider”?

 

In Advising Nonprofit Organizations: Complying with Limits on Compensation, Benefits, and Other Payments, our faculty will explain what legal advisors to, and members of, a charity’s board of directors need to know to comply with IRS and state guidelines on excess benefit transactions, including reporting and governance issues.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

Topics for discussion include:

What actions constitute private inurement?

Who are “qualified persons”?

What is the “fair and reasonable” test?

How is excessive compensation measured?

How are intermediate sanctions calculated?

What is involved in IRS Form 990 reporting?

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

This accredited CLE program from ALI CLE will benefit attorneys and other professionals who serve on a nonprofit organization’s board of directors or who advise nonprofit organizations.

Back to Top

Faculty

 

 

 

 

 

Willard L. Boyd, III, Nyemaster Goode, P.C., Des Moines, Iowa

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lisa A. Runquist, Lisa A. Runquist, Attorney at Law, Northridge, California

 

 

 

Back to Top

Program Schedule

All times eastern


12:00 p.m.   Program Begins

1:30 p.m.  Adjournment

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.5
Total 50-minute hours of instruction: 1.8

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Here's what registrants have said about this course:
"Good info—good delivery—thanks."
"Good program."
"The presenters were knowledgeable and excellent presenters. They were able to simplify the complex, which is the mark of somebody who really knows their stuff."

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm
Central 11:00 am –12:30 pm
Mountain 10:00 am – 11:30 am
Pacific & Arizona 9:00 am – 10:30 am
Alaska 8:00 am – 9:30 am
Hawaii 6:00 am – 7:30 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service