Advanced Issues in Foreign Asset Protection Trusts - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
NOTE: Due to system upgrades, access to this website and your account will not be available 8 a.m. through 6 p.m. EDT, Saturday, August 23. For assistance, please email customer service at custserv@ali-cle.org. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Advanced Issues in Foreign Asset Protection Trusts
  • Friday
  • November 30, 2012
  • 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Eastern Standard Time
Register Now!

Available Online: | Coursebook

Why You Should Attend

 

Most estate planners and other wealth-planning practitioners today have at least a good working knowledge of asset protection planning principles.  But to take your planning practice to the next level, you need the most advanced and in-depth information about foreign asset protection trusts. 

 

This 90-minute accredited CLE program will do just that.  Featuring an experienced international panel, including well-known asset protection planning attorney Barry S. Engel, New Zealand barrister and professional trustee Reuben Tylor, and New Zealand barrister and professional trustee Antony Will, this practical audio webcast examines the specialized issues of foreign asset protection trusts and gives you advanced strategies for advising your clients in offshore asset protection planning.

 

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

 

Topics include:

To Offshore or Not to Offshore: That is the Question - A Comparative Analysis of Statutory Provisions and Other Differences

An Analysis and Discussion of Key Clauses Under Offshore Asset Protection Trusts

Asset Protection Squared: Protecting the Operating Business or Professional Practice as the Next Step for the Client

Professionals Using Asset Protection Planning as a Supplement to Traditional Liability and Malpractice Insurance

Protective Measures by the Trustees When and If a Threat Develops

Foreign Trustee Meets Bankruptcy Trustee - Who Preempts Whom?

Contempt of Court Issues

From the Trenches: Comparing Results Under Reported Case Law and Results Under Unreported Cases

 

Join us live on Friday, November 30, 2012, via your phone or your computer. Corresponding course material may be downloaded or viewed online.  All registrants will be able to submit questions to the faculty via email throughout the program.

 

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

 

Estate planning attorneys and other wealth planning practitioners.

 

Back to Top

Planning Chair

 

Barry S. Engel, Engel & Reiman, Denver, CO

 

Back to Top

Faculty

 

Reuben W. Tylor, Cook Islands Trust Corporation Ltd., Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Antony B. Will, Cook Islands Trust Corporation Ltd., Rarotonga, Cook Islands

 

Back to Top

Program Schedule

 

(All Times Eastern)

1:00 pm     Advanced Issues in Foreign Asset Protection Trusts

                         --Panel discussion

                         --Audience questions (submitted via email)

2:30 pm     Adjournment

 

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.5; Total 50-minute hours of instruction: 1.8
For more information on CLE credits for a particular jurisdiction, click on the “Mandatory CLE Credit” link in the box titled, “Course Details,” at the top left of this web page.

Suggested Prerequisite: Experience in asset protection trust planning, particularly foreign asset protection trusts.

Educational Objective: To learn about current developments in offshore asset protection generally and offshore trusts asset protection trusts specifically.

Level of Instruction: Intermediate

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Times

Eastern: 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Central: 12:00 noon - 1:30 pm

Mountain: 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Pacific: 10:00 am - 11:30 am

Alaska: 9:00 am - 10:30 am

Hawaii: 8:00 am - 9:30 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service