Using Gift and GST Tax Exemptions Before Year-End - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
NOTE: Due to system upgrades, access to this website and your account will not be available 8 a.m. through 6 p.m. EDT, Saturday, August 23. For assistance, please email customer service at custserv@ali-cle.org. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Using Gift and GST Tax Exemptions Before Year-End
  • Thursday
  • August 16, 2012
  • 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. Eastern
Register Now!

Available Online: | Coursebook

Why You Should Attend

Get an overview of the current gift and GST tax exemptions and potential planning opportunities for clients who wish to make tax-free gifts before year-end.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

The Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010 (aka TRA 2010) created significant but temporary reductions in estate and gift taxes. The exclusion amount of $5,000,000 plus lower tax rates have created opportunities for individuals to transfer wealth and save thousands, or even millions of dollars in taxes—but only through December 31, 2012—absent further legislation.

 

Join experienced practitioners Marya P. Robben, Partner, Lindquist & Vennum PLLP, Minneapolis, and Adam K. Sherman, Partner, McDermott Will & Emery LLP, Chicago, for a look at the current status of gift and GST tax exemptions---and a practical review of ways your client might use the increased exemptions and lower tax rates to transfer wealth while minimizing tax liabilities.

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

Trust and Estate Counsel

Wealth Managers

Back to Top

Faculty

Marya P. Robben, Lindquist & Vennum PLLP, Minneapolis

Adam K. Sherman, McDermott Will & Emery LLP, Chicago

Back to Top

Program Schedule

All Times Eastern Daylight

12:30 p.m. Program Begins.

1:30 p.m. Program Ends.

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.0; Total 50-minute hours 1.2

Suggested Prerequisite: Two to four years’ experience in subject matter

Educational Objective: Acquisition of knowledge and skills to develop proficiency as a practitioner; maintenance of professional competence as a practitioner; provision of information on recent legal developments

Level of Instruction: Intermediate

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm

Central 11:30 am to 12:30 pm

Mountain 10:30 am to 11:30 am

Pacific & Arizona 9:30 am to 10:30 am

Alaska 8:30 am to 9:30 am

Hawaii 6:30 am to 7:30 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service