Coming Clean on Green: The FTC's New Greenwashing Guidelines - CLE, Continuing Legal Education - ALI CLE.org
Coming Clean on Green: The FTC's New Greenwashing Guidelines
Register Now!

Available Online: Online CLE | MP3 Audio Files | Coursebook

Why You Should Attend

This audio webcast offers an excellent opportunity to hear two well-known attorneys in the consumer litigation, advertising, and marketing areas explain the reach of the Federal Trade Commission’s recent revisions to its Guides for the Use of Environmental Marketing Claims.

 

Gain tips on how to protect your clients by joining this convenient 60-minute live telephone seminar. The presenters will analyze the framework of the Green Guides and update you on the recent revisions, including new guidance on the use of green seals and certifications, the use of terms such as “recyclable,” “renewable,” and “biodegradable,” and when conducting a life cycle analysis is necessary. The presenters will also provide an update about best practices about how to avoid FTC charges of “greenwashing” and comment on how the new guidance will influence various practice segments and client markets.

 

All registrants receive a set of downloadable course materials and free access to the archived online program indefinitely.

Back to Top

What You Will Learn

Despite the FTC’s efforts at providing extensive guidance in this area, as well as aggressive enforcement efforts, there has been a lot of confusion about what kinds of “green” claims are permissible and what kinds will invite FTC scrutiny. Successful advisors to manufacturers, advertisers, and marketers need to understand the new guidance in order to advise their clients about the limits of acceptable green claims. Devote just 60 minutes to this teleconference to hear two leading attorneys in the consumer litigation, advertising and marketing areas explain what to do to help your client to make the most of permissible green claims.

 

These topics, among others, will be considered:

The new guidance on making general environmental benefit claims;

The specific changes to the 1998 guidance;

The new environmental marketing terms added to the Green Guides, including “renewable materials,” “made with renewable energy,” and “carbon offsets”;

New guidance about seals and certifications;

New guidance about how to substantiate green marketing claims;

Factors to consider in reviewing a client’s marketing/advertising claims.

 

Back to Top

Who Should Attend

Attorneys and other legal professionals in consumer litigation, advertising, and marketing should attend this accredited continuing legal education program from ALI CLE.

Back to Top

Planning Chairs

PLANNERS & FACULTY

 

 

 

 

 

Rebekah A. Kaufman, Morrison & Foerster LLP, San Francisco
Chair of the firm’s Consumer Litigation group

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jeffrey A. Greenbaum, Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz, PC, New York
Member of the firm’s advertising, Marketing and Public Relations group

 

Back to Top

Program Schedule

All times eastern

3:00 p.m.   Coming Clean on Green: The FTC's New Greenwashing Guidelines

4:00 p.m.   Adjournment

 

Email questions during the program to tsquestions@ali-cle.org

 

Total 60-minute hours of instruction: 1.0; total 50-minute hours: 1.2
For more information on CLE credits for a particular jurisdiction, click on the “Mandatory CLE Credit” link in the box titled, “Course Details,” at the top left of this web page.

Suggested Prerequisite: Experience in advertising and marketing law issues.

Educational Objective: To better meet client needs.

Level of Instruction: Advanced

Click Here for MCLE Credit Information

Back to Top

Here's what registrants have said about this course:
Very informative. Communicated the information on this complex subject in a very clear manner.

Back to Top

Times

Eastern 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Central 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Mountain 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Pacific 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
Alaska 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Hawaii 10:00 am – 11:00 am

Back to Top

 

 

Course Details


Real-Time Customer Service